Real Estate Pre-License Education





Top Rated Courses 

A+ Student Support


Get Immediate & 24/7 Access

Self-Paced Online Courses 


Complete all courses from anywhere 


DRE Approved

Instant completion certificates 

Unlimited Quiz Retakes 

Self-Proctored Final Exam


Realty School 101 - California - Board Approved Real Estate License School

To view our current approval status with the California Department of Real Estate (DRE):
 California Department of Real Estate Required Statutory / Pre-License Real Estate Courses 

Our course provider name is “Realty School 101”

Realty School 101 provider number is: S0637 

Each of the 8 courses offered by Realty School 101 is approved by the California Real Estate Board.

For updates visit the Covid-19 FAQs for Licensing/Exam Processes here:

New Year Beginning 2022 Special Offer: 



View Each Package Option Below

2 Online Courses: Package Deal $173

Discount Applied $23

3 Online Courses: Package Deal $248

Discount Applied $46

All 3 Online Courses PLUS Exam Prep Package Deal $259

Discount Applied $85 (Most Popular)

4 Online Courses: Package Deal $323

Discount Applied $69

5 Online Courses: Package Deal $375

Discount Applied $115

6 Courses: Package Deal $450

Discount Applied $138

7 Courses: Package Deal $525

Discount Applied $161

8 Courses: Package Deal $600

Discount Applied $184

View Each Individual Course Option Below

Enroll in Individual Courses

($98 each)

Real Estate Practice


Real Estate Principles


Real Estate Finance


Real Estate Legal


Real Estate Appraisal


Real Estate Economics


Real Estate Property Management


Real Estate Office Administration


Exam Prep

Final Briefing Exams Online

Course Provider Complaint Statement

A course provider complaint form is available on the California Bureau of Real Estate (CalBRE) website at Access this form by typing in “RE 340” in the search box located in the upper right corner of the home page. An informational form regarding course provider complaints, “RE 340A” is also available.




Requirements to Obtain a Salesperson License:

As per the DRE: To obtain a real estate salesperson license, you must first qualify for and pass a written examination.

Those who pass the examination are provided a license application which must be submitted to and approved by the DRE.

This license is required of individuals who conduct licensed real estate activities as described in the Real Estate Law under the supervision of a licensed broker.

A license may also be obtained by a person who does not immediately intend to be employed by a broker. However, a salesperson without an responsible broker may not perform acts requiring a real estate license.


  • Age: You must be 18 years of age or older to be issued a license.  17 to enroll and take state exam.
  • Residence: If you are not a California resident, see Out-of-State Applicants.
  • Honesty: Applicants must be honest and truthful. Conviction of a crime may result in the denial of a license.
  • California does not require an applicant for a salesperson’s license to have a high school diploma or college degree.

    There is also no state residency requirement.

5 Step Process to Become a Licensed Real Estate Agent 


Provide proof of completion 

135 hours of required education

45 credit hours in Real Estate Principles;

45 credit hours in Real Estate Practice course;

45 credit hours in one additional state-approved course.


Pass each of the course exams

Realty School 101 requires a minimum passing score of 60% for each pre-license course

You have 12 months of access to the pre-license courses until each is expired.


Apply to the DRE

After passing the examination, you will complete a Salesperson License Application.

Also submit your Live Scan Request form (RE237: Required to submit to DRE).

For more information about the exam and state application please visit:

Avoid Potential Denial of Your License Application (RE229).


Pass the state exam

Pass the in-person state license examination provided by the California DRE: 3 hours: 150 Multiple-Choice Questions, 70% minimum passing score.



Connect your license with a broker or brokerage corporation.

A salesperson is licensed to act on behalf of a broker, and may not act as a real estate agent independently.

A salesperson may only work for one broker in California at a time.


Requirements to Obtain a Broker License:

Be at least 18 years of age

As of 1/1/2013 Required Experience has changed.
A minimum of two years full-time licensed real estate salesperson experience in the last five years or a four-year degree from an accredited college or university including a major or minor in real estate
Members of the bar of any state in the United States will generally qualify on the basis of their education and experience and are statutorily exempt from the college-level course requirements.

Broker license applicants must complete the following statutory required college-level courses:

Real Estate Practice *
Legal Aspects of Real Estate *
Real Estate Finance *
Real Estate Appraisal *
Real Estate Economics * or 

And 3 courses from the following group:

Real Estate Principles 
Property Management 
Real Estate Office Administration 


Complete the required pre-licensing education and pass the state exam.

You must complete an original Broker Examination Application and send it along with an official transcript showing successful completion of the statutory college-level real estate courses and degree(s).

For more information about the exam and state application please visit:

Avoid Potential Denial of Your License Application (RE229).

Contact Realty School 101 for more information or request assistance with the enrollment process:

ASK QUESTIONS: #888-385-0087

Ask us how you can get started for free!

Skip to toolbar